The Economics department offers two scholarships for Saint Michael's College students who wish to pursue a degree in economics. For more information about these scholarship opportunities, contact Professor Tara Natarajan, Chair of the Economics department, at 802.654.2298 or by email at

The Freeman M. Saltus Scholarship

The Freeman M. Saltus Scolarship provides scholarship recognition to students who excelled in discussing and writing about topics of labor and economics. The scholarship was envisioned by Mr. Freeman Saltus in 1956 when he gifted the College a $500 savings bond. Today, it provides scholarship assistance to a student recommended by either the chair of the economics department or the chair of the business administration department, with preference given to economics students.

The Professor John Carvellas Scholarship

The Professor John Carvellas Scholarship in Economics recognizes John for his exceptional teaching, mentoring talents and friendship while providing financial support to students who want to pursue a degree in economics.

The awards are renewable on an annual basis for juniors and/or seniors based on solid academic performance and the recommendation of the department of Economics chair.

2014 recipients of the John Carvellas Scholarship Award: - Brianna Healy and Kelsey Duarte.

2014 john carvellas award

Pictured left to right: Professor Reza Ramazani, Carvellas Scholarship winners Brianna Healy and Kelsey Duarte, Professor Tara Natarajan, Professor John Carvellas, Professor Patrick Walsh, Professor Herb Kessel.

john carvellas katelyn heath

The 2013 John Carvellas Award winner was Katelyn Heath.

The 2012 John Carvellas Award winners were Meagan Olsen and Lexa Foote.

steven thompson emily pratt

2011 recipients of the John Carvellas Scholarship Award: Steven Thompson and Emily Pratt.

kaitlyn tuthill josh hoxie

The 2010 scholarship recipients were Kaitlyn Tuthill and Josh Hoxie. Pictured left to right: Professors Herb Kessel and Reza Ramazani, Kaitlyn Tuthill, John Carvellas, Josh Hoxie, Richard Kujawa, Tara Natarajan, Patrick Walsh.

claudette foisy

Claudette Foisy was the first scholarship recipient. Pictured left to right: Professor Herb Kessel, Professor Reza Ramazani, Professor Richard Kujawa, Claudette Foisy, Professor Patrick Walsh, and Professor John Carvellas.

Learn What Matters