First Steps in Your Saint Michael’s Academic Major

Recommended Majors Courses for First Semester Students

ACCOUNTING

AC-141: Financial Accounting

ST-120: Elementary Statistics or EC-101: Principles of Macroeconomics

Program Coordinator: Steve Doyon, sdoyon@smcvt.edu

AMERICAN STUDIES

One or more courses among:

AM-229: Intro to Cuban Lit & Culture

EN-251: American Lit I

HI-101: US History to 1865 or HI-103: US History Since 1865

Program Director: Maura D’Amore, mdamore@smcvt.edu

ANTHROPOLOGY/SOCIOLOGY

AN-109: Intro to Cultural Anthropology or SO-101: Intro to Sociology

Department Chair: Robert Brenneman, rbrenneman@smcvt.edu

ART

AR-201: Foundations in Art

Program Coordinator: Will Mentor, wmentor@smcvt.edu

BIOCHEMISTRY

BI-151: Intro to Ecology and Evolution

CH-110: General Chemistry I*

MA-150: Calculus I* or MA-160:Calculus II*

Program Director: Alayne Schroll, aschroll@smcvt.edu

* Calculus Placement Test required before you will be registered for this course

BIOLOGY

BI-151: Intro to Ecology and Evolution

CH-110: General Chemistry I*

For some students: MA-130: Elements of Calculus* or MA-150: Calculus I* or

ST-120: Elementary Statistics (contact chair or your advisor with questions)

Department Chair: Mark Lubkowitz, mlubkowitz@smcvt.edu

* Calculus Placement Test required before you will be registered for this course

BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION

BU-103: Managerial Ethics

AC-141: Financial Accounting or AC-143: Managerial Accounting

For some students: EC-101: Principles of Macroeconomics or ST-120: Elementary Statistics

Department Chair: Karen Popovich, kpopovich@smcvt.edu

CHEMISTRY

CH-110: General Chemistry I*

MA-150: Calculus I*, or MA-160: Calculus II*

Department Chair: Dave Heroux, dheroux@smcvt.edu

* Calculus Placement Test required before you will be registered for this course

COMPUTER SCIENCE

CS-111: Intro to Computer Science I*

MA-150: Calculus I* or MA-160: Calculus II*

Department Chair: John Trono, jtrono@smcvt.edu

* Calculus Placement Test required before you will be registered for this course

DATA SCIENCE

MA-150: Calculus I* or MA-160: Calculus II* or MA-211: Calculus III**

CS-111: Intro to Computer Science I*

Program Coordinator: Michael Larsen, mlarsen@smcvt.edu

* Calculus Placement Test required before you will be registered for this course

** If student has AP credit for MA 150 and/or MA 160

ECONOMICS

EC-101: Principles of Macroeconomics or EC-103: Principles of Microeconomics

Department Chair: Tara Natarajan, tnatarajan@smcvt.edu

EDUCATION (ART EDUCATION, ELEMENTARY EDUCATION, SECONDARY EDUCATION)

and EDUCATION STUDIES

ED-231: Education in the 21st Century

For some students: MA-115: Math for Teachers

Also: if you have selected an additional major (one is required), see recommendations for that major.

Department Chair: Valerie Bang-Jensen, vbang-jensen@smcvt.edu

ENGINEERING

MA-150: Calculus I* or MA-160: Calculus II* or MA-211: Calculus III**

CH-110: General Chemistry I* or PY-210: College Physics I

Program Directors: Barbara O’Donovan, Lloyd Simons, emails: bodonovan@smcvt.edu; lsimons@smcvt.edu

* Calculus Placement Test required before you will be registered for this course

** If student has AP credit for MA 150 and/or MA 160

ENGLISH

EN-110: Seminar in Literary Studies (topics vary)

And/or

EN-219: British Lit I or EN-251: American Lit I

Department Chair: Maura D’Amore, mdamore@smcvt.edu

ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE

ES-107: Environmental Science

BI-151: Intro to Ecology and Evolution or CH-110: General Chemistry I*

For some students: ES-106: Environment and Society, MA-130: Elements of Calculus*, MA-150:   Calculus I* or ST-120: Elementary Statistics (contact chair or your advisor with questions)

Department Chair: Richard Kujawa, rkujawa@smcvt.edu

* Calculus Placement Test required before you will be registered for this course

ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES

One or two courses among:

ES-105: Nature and Culture

ES-106: Environment and Society

ES-107: Environmental Science

Department Chair: Richard Kujawa, rkujawa@smcvt.edu

EXPLORATORY

You may wish to choose some courses required in majors you are considering at this time, as well as

courses that meet core curriculum requirements.

Contact Associate Dean of the College Tim Mackin (tmackin@smcvt.edu) with questions

FRENCH

French course according to placement

Department Chair: Peter Vantine, pvantine@smcvt.edu

GENDER STUDIES

GS-101: Gender Studies: Foundations and/or GS-208: Global LGBTQ+ Politics

Program Director: Maura D’Amore, mdamore@smcvt.edu

HEALTH SCIENCE

HS 101 – Introduction to Health Science
BI 153 – Introduction to Cell Biology and Genetics
CH 110 – General Chemistry I
CH 117 – Organic Chemistry I

Program Director: Karen Talentino, ktalentino@smcvt.edu

HISTORY

History course at the 100 level

Department Chair: Jennifer Purcell, jpurcell@smcvt.edu

INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS

PO-120: Intro to American National Politics

Department Chair: Shefali Misra, smisra@smcvt.edu

INFORMATION SYSTEMS

One or more courses among:

CS-111: Intro to Computer Science I

BU-103: Managerial Ethics

ST-120: Elementary Statistics

EC-101: Principles of Macroeconomics

Program Director: Greta Pangborn, gpangborn@smcvt.edu

LATIN

LA-101: Introduction to Latin, or advanced course, according to placement

Department Chair: Peter Vantine, pvantine@smcvt.edu

MEDIA STUDIES, JOURNALISM and DIGITAL ARTS

MJD-101: Media Revolutions and/or MJD-110: Digital Media

Department Chair: Jerry Swope, jswope@smcvt.edu

MATHEMATICS

MA-150: Calculus I* or MA-160: Calculus II* or MA-211: Calculus III**

For some students: CS-111: Intro to Computer Science I (contact chair or your advisor with questions)

Department Chair: Lloyd Simons, lsimons@smcvt.edu

* Calculus Placement Test required before you will be registered for this course

** If student has AP credit for MA 150 and/or MA 160

MUSIC

MU-201: Introductory Music Theory

Music Lessons and participation in an Ensemble

Program Coordinator: William Ellis, wellis@smcvt.edu

NEUROSCIENCE

PS-101: General Psychology

CH-110: General Chemistry I

BI-151: Intro to Ecology and Evolution

Program Director: Melissa VanderKaay Tomasulo, mvanderkaay@smcvt.edu

PHILOSOPHY

PH-103: Intro to Philosophy (topics vary)

Department Chair: R. Michael Olson, rolson@smcvt.edu

PHYSICS

MA-150: Calculus I* or MA-160: Calculus II

PY-210: College Physics I

Department Chair: Alain Brizard, abrizard@smcvt.edu

* Calculus Placement Test required before you will be registered for this course

POLITICAL SCIENCE

PO-120: Intro to American National Politics

Department Chair: Shefali Misra, smisra@smcvt.edu

PUBLIC HEALTH

PB 101 – Introduction to Public Health

BI 153 – Introduction to Cell Biology and Genetics

Program Director: Donna Bozzone, dbozzone@smcvt.edu

PRE-PHARMACY

BI-151: Intro to Ecology and Evolution

CH-110: General Chemistry I

For some students: MA-150: Calculus I* (contact chair or your advisor with questions)

Program Director: Shane Lamos, slamos@smcvt.edu

* Calculus Placement Test required before you will be registered for this course

PSYCHOLOGY

PS-101: General Psychology

Department Chair: David Boynton, dboynton@smcvt.edu

RELIGIOUS STUDIES

RS 120: Christianity: Past and Present or RS-130: Varieties of Christianity or

RS-140: Catholic Christianity

Department Chair: Raymond Patterson, rpatterson@smcvt.edu

SOCIOLOGY/ANTHROPOLOGY

SO-101: Intro to Sociology or AN-109: Intro to Cultural Anthropology

Department Chair: Robert Brenneman, rbrenneman@smcvt.edu

SPANISH

Spanish course according to placement

Department Chair: Peter Vantine, pvantine@smcvt.edu

STATISTICS

MA-150: Calculus I* or MA-160: Calculus II or MA-211: Calculus III**

For some students: CS-111: Intro to Computer Science I* or ST-120: Elementary (contact chair or your advisor with questions)

Program Coordinator: Michael Larsen, mlarsen@smcvt.edu

* Calculus Placement Test required before you will be registered for this course

** If student has AP credit for MA 150 and/or MA 160

THEATRE

TH-207: Acting Techniques

Program Coordinator: Peter Harrigan, pharrigan@smcvt.edu