Colonel Donald Cook Award

This award recognizes alumni who unselfishly give of themselves in service to others. The Colonel Donald G. Cook '56 Award was instituted by former Alumni Association President James. J. Gallagher '51 and is considered the College’s highest honor for alumni.

This award is inspired by the example of Colonel Donald G. Cook '56 who was posthumously awarded the Medal of Honor during the Vietnam War.  As a POW, he "repeatedly assumed more than his share of manual labor in order that the other POWs could improve the state of their health.  Colonel Cook willingly and unselfishly put the interest of his comrades before his own well-being and, eventually, his life."  A copy of Colonel Cook's Medal of Honor was presented to Saint Michael’s College on October 22, 2004 and is displayed in the Pomerleau Alumni Center.

This award is typically bestowed upon recipients during Reunion Weekend and most often when the recipient is celebrating a landmark reunion year.  There are no limitations on how soon after graduation an alumnus/a can receive the award.

If you know of an alumnus or alumna who matches the criteria for this award please email and tell us who and why he/she deserves consideration.

Past Recipients - By Year Awarded

Ambassador Robert E. White '52

Walter J. Fitzmaurice '49

General Joseph F. Dunford '77

Reverend Maurice F. Ouellet, SSE '48

Frederick M. Burkle, Jr., M.D. '61

Reverend Arthur R. Kirwin, O.P '57

David A. Tesini, D.M.D. '71

David J. Gretkowski '87
William P. Hammond '44
Francis P. Laffin '74

Neal T. Wholey '88

David LaMarche, M.B.A. '60 and Jane LaMarche, D.Min.

William J. Mazur '60

Honorable Francis B. '58 and Rita McCaffrey

Past Recipients - By Class Year

Class of 1944
William P. Hammond

Class of 1948
Reverend Maurice F. Ouellet, SSE

Class of 1949
Walter J. Fitzmaurice

Class of 1952
Ambassador Robert E. White

Class of 1957
Reverend Arthur R. Kirwin, O.P

Class of 1958
Honorable Francis B. and Rita McCaffrey

Class of 1960
William J. Mazur

Class of 1961
Frederick M. Burkle, Jr., M.D.

Class of 1971
David A. Tesini, D.M.D.

Class of 1974
Francis P. Laffin

Class of 1977
Brigadier General Joseph F. Dunford

Class of 1987
David J. Gretkowski

Class of 1988
Neal T. Wholey

Learn What Matters