Class of 2017 gives honors, thanks at Senior Awards Brunch

May 11, 2017

 View most recent 10 images at top of College’s Flickr Photo Gallery for more photos from the Senior Awards Brunch.

As is tradition at Saint Michael’s College, the Thursday before Commencement weekend (May 11 this year) was celebrated with the Senior Awards Brunch. The event, which recognizes exceptional members of the senior class, as well as student-selected faculty and staff, annually brings forth inspirational figures who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to the Saint Michael’s community.

Winners this year are:

Dr. Marie J. Henault Award: Madison Braz

Elizabeth A. Durick Award: Miriam A. Pritschet

Frank G. Mahady Memorial Award: Daniel J. Ramos

Martin Luther King, Jr. Society Award: Manuela G. B. Yeboah (student) and Gary C. Baker (facilities staff)

Roger F. Keleher Memorial Awards: Kayla L. Kee and Daniel T. Divis

John D. Donoghue Award: Kelsey L. Bode

Dedication of 2017 Yearbook:  David H. Landers, instructor of psychology (retiring this year)

Reverend Gerald E. Dupont Awards:  Eliza G. McDonald (student), Ray A. Patterson (associate professor, religious studies) and Deacon Michael R. Carter, SSE ’12 (staff/lecturer in religious studies)

Saint Michael’s Award: James P. Baker

Class Appreciation Awards:  Grace A. Kelly, director of student activities (retiring this year), Paul E. Olsen, professor of business administration and accounting, and Lara E. Scott, assistant director for community service, campus ministry

Community Service Awards: Erin O. Buckley, Jessica D. Bachand, Maeve F. Powers and Sadie J. Taylor

Donald Sutton Community Service: Gianna Buonpastore

Presenters and speakers at the brunch were:

Invocation: Fr. Marcel Rainville ’67, Society of St. Edmund

Emcee:  Angela Armour ’99, director, Alumni Affairs & Parent Relations

Remarks: President John Neuhauser

Faculty remarks: Mark Lubkowitz, biology faculty

Staff remarks:  Deacon Michael Carter, SSE ’12, lecturer in religious studies

Award Presenters:

Dr. Marie Henault Award: Micalee Sullivan, Center for Women & Gender

Elizabeth Durick Award: Fr. Brian Cummings ’86, Edmundite Campus Ministry

Frank Mahady Memorial: Lara Scott, Campus Ministry/MOVE

Martin Luther King, Jr. Society Award: Moise St. Louis, Multicultural Affairs/Student Life

Roger Keleher Memorial Awards: Chris Kenny ’86, Director of Athletics

John D. Donoghue Award: Michael Donoghue, Journalism lecturer

Dedication of 2016 Yearbook:  Jacquelyn M. Duffy ’17, Yearbook editor

Reverend Gerald Dupont Awards: Sophie Adams ’18 and Zachary M.  Maroon ‘18, Student Association president and vice president

Saint Michael’s Award: Dawn Ellinwood, Student Life

Class Gift Presentation: Michael J. McCarthy ’17, Allison D. Huttick ’17 (Senior Class Gift Chairs)

Senior Class Awards (Class Appreciation/Community Service/ Donald Sutton): Ryan F. Butler ’17 and Andrea L. Demos ’17, Senior Class president and vice president, respectively.

Closing Remarks: Ryan F. Butler ’17

Follow us on social.