Service Day also an occasion to honor long-timers

May 18, 2017

 View photo gallery of Service Day teams in action>>

The 8th annual Saint Michael’s College Community Service Day on May 17, 2017 brought together nearly 150 faculty and staff into teams that volunteered to do service activities at 20 locations, both on and off campus.

Afterward at a luncheon in Alliot, long-serving employees were honored for their service to the College as employees, by increments of 5 years — including the most senior, Father Ray Doherty, SSE ’51, who was honored for his 50 years of service.

Here are sites where teams worked during this year’s Community Service Day on Wednesday: Camp Ta-Kum-Ta, All Breed Rescue, Rock Point School, King Street Center, Rice High School, COTS, Mater Christi School, Christ the King School, St. Francis School, Boys & Girls Club, and the Teaching and Applied Linguistics Department Gardens, Lucy’s House for the Prevention of Homeless Pets; Ronald McDonald House, Gilbrook Nature Area Trail in Winooski next to campus; and, at Saint Michael’s: Organic Garden, Early Learning Center, Recycling on North Campus, residence hall cleanup Townhouse Cleanup in the 100s, 200s and 300s.  Most of the groups gathered for a breakfast in Alliot and a prayer from Deacon Michael Carter, introduced by organizer and emcee Katherine Hackett of the Staff Welfare Committee. The Faculty Welfare Committee also helped pull together this special day.

At the luncheon, the following employees if present at the luncheon were honored for their years of service by President John Neuhauser and Vice President of Human Resources Michael New as Katherine Hackett read their names with certificates and handshakes amid applause from the luncheon audience.

50 years: Fr. Raymond Doherty, SSE, campus minister Society of St. Edmund

45 years: Carol Redmond, executive assistant in Admissions, and Joe Kroger, professor or religious studies

40 years: Sue Aubin, administrative assistant in Admission; John Hughes, professor of political science; Herb Kessel, professor of economics; and Michael Samara, Academic Support specialist and longtime Dean of Students.

35 years: Scott Benoit, supervisor in Facilities/Receiving; Lou DiMasi, Dean of Students; Sheryl Fleury, cashier/card specialist; Dave Landers, instructor of psychology; Denise Martin, instructor of biology; and John Trono, professor of computer science.

30 years: Cindy Beaudoin-Valyou, assistant director of the Early Learning Center; Ron Begley, professor of philosophy; Donna Bozzone, professor of biology; Greg Delanty, professor of English; Chris Kenny, director of athletics; and Kerry Shea, associate professor of English.

25 years: Steve Cushing, public safety sergeant; Jo Ellis-Monaghan, professor of mathematics; Harry Hoppe, print services coordinator/press operator; Michele McCaffrey, reference and instruction librarian/reference coordinator; Jerome Monachino, associate director Edmundite Campus Ministry/liturgical music; Stephanie Noakes, receptionist/data entry specialist; and Lenny Whitehouse, building trades upholsterer.

20 years: Dayle Allen, Physical Services; Valarie Brunelle, technical assistant in the Registrar’s Office; Peter Cross, senior systems analyst in Information Technology; Mary Gratton, staff accountant, Jon Hyde, associate professor of media studies, journalism and digital arts; Lori Karnes, student account representative; Nat Lewis, professor of English; Jon Milazzo, athletic equipment manager; Denise Miles, merchandise coordinator in the Campus Store; MJ Russell, director of business intelligence and associate CIO; Kimberly Sultze, associate professor of media studies, journalism and digital arts; Chuck Tobin, producing artistic director of the Saint Michael’s Playhouse; and Joann Trottier, director of information technology operations.

15 years: Sue Breeyear, associate director of the Technology Learning Center; Pat Bunt, instructor/lab coordinator in physics; Karen Donovan, licensure coordinator; Nat Lew, associate professor of fine arts music; Carol More, executive assistant in Institutional Advancement, Greta Pangborn, associate professor of computer science; and Karen Popovich, associate professor of business administration and accounting.

10 years: Karen Abbott, administrative coordinator for graduate education; Gary Baker, physical services/transportation; Donna Decator, dispatcher; Michael DesRosiers, Public Safety corporal; Denise Groll, administrative assistant for faculty; Sue Hathaway, preschool teacher, Terryl Kinder, visiting assistant professor of fine arts; Lisa Kuehn, preschool teacher; Patricia Larose, instructor of applied linguistics; Kerri Leach, associate director of residence life; Jack Neuhauser, president; Joe Pawlaczyk, associate director of the IT Data Center; Rob Robinson, director of business services; Shawn Umansky, network engineer; and RJ Vallie, investigator/liaison officer for Public Safety.

Follow us on social.