Freeman Foundation scholars announced for summer 2024

January 11, 2024
Cat Cutillo
Social Media and Community Content Specialist

Sixteen Saint Michael’s College students will travel to either South Korea or Vietnam this summer thanks to the Freeman Foundation scholarship program. The students will participate in 8-week-long internships during June and July in either Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, or Seoul, South Korea.

Saint Michael’s is one of only 30 colleges and universities in the country to receive this competitive grant from the Freeman Foundation to support the Global Citizenship International Internship program each year.

Jeffrey Ayres, Director of the Center for Global Engagement and Professor and Chair of the Department of Political Science and International Relations, Peggy Imai, Director of the Study Abroad Program, Claire Concio, Administrative Assistant for Study Abroad, and Alaba Apesin, Associate Professor of Business Administration, will be working with these 16 students and The Education Abroad Network (TEAN) over the spring semester to ensure successful internship placements.


Nundalo Alimamy ’25, a Health Science major from Chelsea, MA; Morgan Cathcart ’25, a Health Science major from Wethersfield, CT; Jamie Collins ’25, a Public Health major from Laconia, NH; Kaylan Conliffe ’25, a Data Science major from Windsor, CT; Kathryn Dzambo ’26, a Psychology major from Windermere, FL; Sofie Gjetsund ’25, a Psychology and Criminology major from Oslo, Norway; Kathryn Henry ’25, an Elementary Education and Equity Studies major from Burlington, VT; Cassie Lathrope ’26, a Digital Media and Communications major from Trumbull, CT; Patrick McGloine ’25, an Environmental Science major from Schuylerville, NY; Tulasha Pradhan ’25, a Public Health major from South Burlington, VT; Delaney Progen ’25, a Psychology major from Fairfax, VT; Chloe Sapienza ’25, a Digital Media and Communications major from Georgetown, MA; Ashley Silveira ’26, a Sociology, Anthropology, and International Relations major from Keekonk, MA; Jarrett Sweet ’25, a Secondary Education and Equity Studies major from Fletcher, VT; Anil Tamang ’25, a Public Health major from Colchester, VT; Yamuna Turco ’25, a Psychology and Political Science major from Keeseville, NY.

Follow us on social.