Saint Michael’s community celebrates Class of 2024 with Senior Awards Brunch

May 10, 2024
Photos by Lauren Read and Cat Cutillo

Saint Michael’s hosted its annual Senior Awards Brunch on May 9 to recognize the students in the Class of 2024, faculty and staff who have had a significant impact on the College. Remarks were given from President Richard Plumb and Business Administration Professor Robert Letovsky. The event was emceed by alum Carson O’Neil ’23 who is currently the Stewardship and Donor Relations Officer. Plumb encouraged the Class of 2024 to hold onto the sense of belonging that they found at Saint Michael’s.

“As you transition and go into the world, you know what a community is,” Plumb said. “Surround yourself with people who you can get along with, and those you can’t get along with, and learn how to disagree. But understand the importance of community and that sense of belonging.”

See a gallery of award winners by Lauren Read/Saint Michael’s College

Senior Awards Brunch 2024 Portraits

See a gallery of the awards brunch by Cat Cutillo/Saint Michael’s College

Senior Awards Brunch 2024 Candids

2024 Senior Awards and winners


Class Appreciation Awards 

Class appreciation awards are given to members of the Saint Michael‘s College faculty and staff who have made a significant impact within the class.

Professor Katherine E. Kirby

Adventure Sports Center Director William E. Widlund

Director of Athletics Christopher E. Kenny

Community Service Awards 

The community service awards are given to seniors who have demonstrated exemplary involvement in both the college and local communities.

Lauren R. Best

Makayla M. Blake

Cameron A. Michael

Mia K. Cooper

Donald Sutton Community Service Award 

This award is presented in recognition of Don Sutton’s twenty-six years of service and contributions to the Saint Michael‘s community as the founder of the Saint Michael‘s Fire and Rescue program. This award is given to a senior who has exemplified Sutton’s high ideals and level of commitment.

Petra M. Bajuk

Reverend Gerald E. Dupont, SSE Awards

The award recipient demonstrates dedication to the ideals of courage, vision, devotion, and faith upon which Saint Michael‘s College was founded. This award is named for former president of the College, Reverend Gerald E. Dupont, SSE.

Student- Felicia R. Fil

Faculty- Rev. David Theroux, SSE ’70

Staff-  Dawn M. Ellinwood, Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Saint Michael’s Award 

This award is presented to a member of the senior class who, over the past four years, has been involved for the betterment of the class and the community. The award signifies an unselfish commitment to others and to the development of community at Saint Michael‘s College.

Dakota A. Thomas

Frank G. Mahady Memorial Award

This award is presented to the graduating senior who best demonstrates the qualities of moral leadership and social justice, which were important to Judge Frank G. Mahady, and who demonstrates the potential for making a significant contribution to the causes of peace and justice.

Isabella Andrea Paredes Mendoza

Elizabeth A. Durick Award 

This award is presented to a senior who has made a significant contribution to the Christian goals of Saint Michael‘s College.

Camille Gallagher

Dr. Marie J. Henault Award 

This award is presented to a student who has contributed in some way to gender equity issues both on and off campus, carries an overall grade point average of 3.3 or higher, and may have a major or minor in gender studies. Marie Henault was one of the first women faculty members on campus, a member of the English department, and a seminal leader in the discussion of gender issues at Saint Michael’s College.

Allison B. Petrozzo

Martin Luther King Jr. Society Award 

These awards are presented to seniors and members of the community who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and promoted interracial understanding through the planning and implementation of programs and activities that foster positive awareness about our diverse community. Through their work, they have enlightened the college community to the principles of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Juneau Rich 

John D. Donoghue Award 

This award is presented to the student, faculty member, or administrator who has provided strong support, leadership, and commitment to one of the college’s student publications. The award is named for John D. Donoghue ’32, Christian, gentleman, journalist, and teacher. Donoghue founded the student newspaper The Michaelman in 1947. He also founded the yearbook and served as the first chair of the Saint Michael‘s College journalism department.

Tess L. Curran

Roger F. Keleher Memorial Awards 

These awards are presented to outstanding scholar-athletes who are varsity letter winners and have maintained high scholastic averages. Roger Keleher was a 1915 graduate from Springfield, Massachusetts, who himself was a scholar and athlete.

Virginia R. Kelsey

Katherine G. Culliton

Swapnil Jhajharia

Follow us on social.